Yellow Fever Update for Travellers to and from South Africa

As has been common for Kenya and Tanzania for many years, South African Department of Health has decided Zambian travelers will also require a yellow fever vaccination certificate. The World Health Organisation (WHO) has revised the Yellow Fever vaccination recommendations for Africa. The South African Department of Health has issued the following information regarding the requirements for travellers from and to South Africa:

  • Zambia: Returning travellers from South Africa to Zambia and those travelling from Zambia to South Africa will now require proof of Yellow Fever vaccination. Previously, proof of Yellow Fever vaccination was not required.
  • Tanzania: Returning travellers from South Africa to Tanzania and those travelling from Tanzania to South Africa will require proof of Yellow Fever vaccination. This is unchanged from the present regulations.

All in-transit passengers between the two destinations, irrespective of the time period in transit, will also require proof of Yellow Fever vaccination.

We would like to highlight that our investigations into the date of inception of the above recommendations suggest that the effective date has been set as 1 July 2011. Travellers immunized against Yellow Fever are issued with an internationally recognized vaccination certificate for inspection by immigration officials. The international health regulations concerning Yellow Fever are unequivocal, and unvaccinated travellers may face denial of entry, or even quarantine in certain circumstances.

Vaccinations are available in Livingstone at US$80.00 and Victoria Falls at US$50.00 per person, and in South Africa at ZAR 430.00 per person, subject to change.

NOTE: A yellow fever vaccination needs to be done no less than 10 days prior to travelling.

The list countries for which a Yellow Fever vaccination certificate is required for entry into South Africa are as below:

  • Angola
  • Argentina
  • Benin
  • Bolivia
  • Brazil
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cameroon
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad, Colombia
  • Guinea-Bissau, Congo
  • Côte d’Ivoire
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Ecuador
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Ethiopia
  • French Guyana
  • Gabon
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Guinea
  • Guyana
  • Kenya
  • Liberia
  • Mali
  • Mauritania
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Rwanda
  • Sao Tome and Principe
  • Senegal
  • Sierra Leone
  • Somalia
  • Sudan
  • Suriname
  • Togo
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Uganda
  • United Republic of Tanzania
  • Venezuela
  • Zambia



Subscribe to our e-mail newsletter to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Rss Feed Tweeter button Facebook button Linkedin button
This site is protected by WP-CopyRightPro